You are here: Home / About Us

About Us


The Ferguson College of Agriculture is the academic unit of the Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, and offers outstanding undergraduate and graduate programs that are recognized at the state, regional, national and international levels. In collaboration with the Oklahoma Cooperative Extension Service (OCES) and the Oklahoma Agricultural Experiment Station (OAES), CASNR faculty provide great breadth and exceptional quality in teaching, advising, research, extension and service.

Ferguson College of Agriculture's academic programs prepare students to analyze information, communicate effectively, think critically, problem solve, and assume leadership roles in their respective fields of study. Students also receive a solid general education in communications, humanities and social sciences. In agriculture or natural resources, the graduate will have an opportunity for a rewarding career that will last as long as food is consumed, fiber is grown, and soil, water and wildlife resources are valued.

Career opportunities in Agricultural Sciences are highly diverse. Majors are supported in traditional agricultural and natural resource areas such as animal science, agricultural business, soil science, range science, entomology and agricultural education, in addition to emerging areas such as plant and animal biotechnology, food science, natural resource management and agricultural communications. The college's programs also include many fields not commonly associated with agriculture such as landscape architecture, turf management, biochemistry, environmental science, leadership and pre-medical sciences. Our students come from both traditional agricultural roots and urban settings. This diversity adds strength to the college experience for all students in our college. Active international programs, including study abroad opportunities, are available to students in every CASNR major and add a unique dimension to the college experience.


Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources include broad and diverse professions and do not have a single accrediting society as do some other professions. Programs in agricultural education, agricultural engineering, forestry, landscape architecture and landscape management are accredited by their professional organizations. Additional information about these accredited programs is available online.

Academic Programs

Undergraduate Programs. The Bachelor of Science in Agriculture degree is offered in the following major fields of study: agribusiness, agricultural communications, agricultural economics, agricultural education, agricultural leadership, animal science, biochemistry and molecular biology, entomology, environmental science, food science, horticulture, landscape management, natural resource ecology and management, and plant and soil sciences. The Bachelor of Landscape Architecture is also offered in the college of agricultural sciences and natural resources. Most departments offer one or more minors. The requirements for the minors are available from the department offering the specified minor.

Graduate Programs. Graduate study is available in all Ferguson College of Agriculture academic departments and in the multidisciplinary international agriculture program. In addition to the Master of Agriculture and Master of Science degrees that may be obtained through several departments, the Doctor of Philosophy degree (PhD) may be earned in the following areas: agricultural economics, agricultural education, biosystems engineering, animal science, biochemistry and molecular biology, crop science, entomology, food science, plant pathology, soil science, natural resource ecology and management and in horticulture through interdisciplinary programs in crop science, environmental science, and plant science.